12 MPs Face charges over 24th July events

Earlier today, Maldives Police Service forwarded the cases of 12 opposition MPs to the Prosecutor General’s office for prosecution.

Officials from the PG’s office confirmed that the Police have in fact filed cases seeking charges for trespassing and disobeying orders. North Henveyru MP Abdulla Shahid, South Henveyru MP Mohamed Abdul Kareem, West Maafannu MP Mohamed Falah, Central Hithadhoo MP Ibrahim Mohamed Didi, North Hithadhoo MP Mohamed Aslam, Kinbidhoo MP Abdulla Riyaz, Hinnavaru MP Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, Kendhoo MP Ali Hussain and Nolhivaram MP Hussain Areef are the 9 MPs charged for breaching Police lines and for disobeying direct orders.

Expelled MPs including Saud Hussain, Mohamed Ameeth and Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim were also charged with trespassing and disobeying orders. The police have remanded these MPs in connection with the ongoing cases about the decision of Elections Commission declaring that they have lost their seats.

Eights out of the Twelve Members have already been summoned to the Police and their statements were taken.