Supreme Court Declares Four Seats of Parliament Vacant: By-Elections to be Held Soon

Supreme Court backs up the Elections Commission decision that four MPs have lost their seat at the Parliament. In the ruling issued late Sunday, the Supreme Court declared that there are no further legal matters to be settled in the case regarding the Elections Commission’s decision.
The Supreme Court ruling said that their ruling on 13 July 2017 is clear on the matter of switching political parties by MPs in office and that the Court stands by the prior ruling in this case as well.

The four Members of  Parliament (MP) whose seats were lost are Villingili MP Saud Hussain, Dhidhoo MP Abdul Latheef Mohamed, Madduvvari MP Mohamed Ameeth and Thulusdhoo MP Mohamed Waheed Ibrahim.

The Supreme court’s declaration did not overrule any decisions made by the Elections Commission. Therefore the commission has announced that it will hold by-elections for the vacated constituencies in the near future. The four constituencies along with 2 other constituencies – South Mahchangolhi constituency and Dhangethi constituency, are among constituencies where by-elections will be held.

MPs of these two constituencies, Ilham Ahmed and Abdulla Shinaan, have previously lost their seats.